Anson Ma (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

Dr. Anson Ma (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

Assistant Professor Anson Ma (CBE/IMS) has been nominated by Dr. Megan Creighton from 3M Company to receive a 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award. This award recognizes outstanding junior faculty members who are selected based on their research, experience and academic leadership. The purpose of the award is to help the selected faculty achieve tenure, remain in his/her teaching position, and conduct research. The award is an unrestricted gift of $15,000/year and may be renewed up to two additional years for a total of $45,000. This award is administered by 3M’s Research and Development Community in partnership with 3Mgives. This award encourages the pursuit of new ideas among non-tenured university professors, giving them the opportunity to interact with their peers and 3M scientists. 3M grants the awards as part of 3M’s support of innovative research in higher education.

Dr. Anson Ma received his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Cambridge in 2009. He joined UConn in 2011 as a member of both the IMS Polymer Program and the Chemical Engineering Program. Dr. Ma’s research focuses on understanding the complex flow behavior (rheology) and processing of various complex fluids such as foams, emulsions, nanoparticle suspensions, and biological fluids. Of particular interest is to improve the reliability and push the existing resolution limit of inkjet and 3D printing technology. Dr. Ma has received a number of faculty awards, including a Distinguished Young Rheologist Award from TA Instruments in 2012, NSF CAREER Award in 2013, and more recently the 2015 Arthur B. Metzner Early Career Award from the Society of Rheology. He’s leading UConn’s activities related to America’s Flexible Electronics Manufacturing Institute (NextFlex) with up to $5M matching fund from the state of CT and UConn.